Countywide & Sun - Connecting you to the community where you live, work & play!

Lankford Named Deputy Whip


February 7, 2019

Senate Majority Whip Senator John Thune (R-SD) has announced the deputy whip team for the 116th Congress.

Senator Mike Crapo (R-ID) will lead the team as chief deputy whip. Serving as deputy whips are: Senators James Lankford (R-OK), Martha McSally (R-AZ), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), John Cornyn (R-TX), Cory Gardner (R-CO), Rob Portman (R-OH), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Tim Scott (R-SC), Thom Tillis (R-NC), and Todd Young (R-IN).

"This is a dynamic team, and I will rely on each of these men and women over the next two years. I'm thrilled to have the experience of Sen. Cornyn and those who have served as deputy whips in the past, as well as an opportunity to welcome our new members, Sen. McSally and Sen. Romney," Thune said. "Last Congress, Senate Republicans worked together to implement reforms to help working families and increase opportunities for American workers. With the team we have put in place, I am confident we will continue to successfully deliver on the promises we made to the American people to improve their everyday lives."

"I'm pleased to have the opportunity to help Sen. Thune hear from members of our conference on their policy positions in the 116th Congress," Lankford said. "The whip team provides an opportunity to serve the whole conference by walking through policy ideas and the logistical side of votes in the Senate. It is an honor to continue to serve in this capacity."


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 02/14/2020 23:08